2017-2018 Operating Dates: November 23, 2017 - April 8, 2018
9:00 am to 4:00 pm, 7 Days a Week
Colorado’s San Juan Mountains boast some of ski country’s most incredible terrain, and Telluride is its mecca, stashed amongst the highest concentration of 13,000- and 14,000-foot peaks in North America. The stunning scenery is undeniably some of the most beautiful in the Rockies. Living up to its reputation for legendary terrain, Telluride Ski Resort has something for everyone. The Plunge, Revelation Bowl and Gold Hill offer plenty of steeps for experts. See Forever and Prospect Bowl provide the ideal terrain for intermediates and the wide open, gentle slopes of Ute Park and The Meadows start beginners off right while enjoying the endless scenery of the San Juans.
|Skiable Terrain||2,000+ acres (810+ hectares)|
|Longest Run||4.6 miles (7.4km)|
|Trail Difficulty||23% Beginner|
|Total Lifts||2 High-speed gondolas|
7 high-speed quads
1 fixed quad
2 surface lifts
3 magic carpets
19 Total Lifts
|Vertical Drop||4,425 feet (1,349 m)|
|Lift-Served Vertical Drop||3,790 feet (1,155 m)|
|Elevation||Base: 8,725 feet (2,659 m)|
Lift-served: 12,570 feet (3,831 m)
Maximum: 13,150 feet (4,008 m)
|Lift Capacity||22,386+ skiers per hour|
|Average Annual Snowfall||309 inches (789 cm)|
A short video series featuring interviews with Ron Allred, Johnny Stevens and William (Bill) Mahoney - Watch the video series online
1700’s: The Ute Indians used the San Juan Mountains and the San Miguel River banks as summer camp retreating to nearby red-rock canyons for shelter and dry ground. The Mountains were named by Spanish explorers in the 1700’s.
1858: Gold is first discovered
1875: John Fallon makes the first claim in Marshal Basin above Telluride
1878: The Town was founded under the name Columbia, which it was eventually forced to change by the U.S. Postal Service in 1887 due to confusion with another mining town, Columbia, California.
1880: The Tomboy Mine, one of the richest in North American, opened in Savage Basin.
1889: Butch Cassidy robbed his first bank, in Telluride where he netted $24,000 from the San Miguel Valley Bank.
1891: L.L. Nunn, through a partnership with Westinghouse and Tesla, realizes his goal of transmitting alternating current long distance to operate the Gold King mine. He builds the first commercial AC power plant, in Ames, Colorado (near Telluride). This breakthrough cut the operating costs from $2,500 to $500 per month and revolutionized the mining industry
1895: Telluride’s most famous landmark, the New Sheridan Hotel was built on Colorado Avenue.
1898: An abundance of gold was found in Telluride’s mines, making mining profitable again. Telluride became known as “The City of Gold.”
1928: The Tomboy Mine Closes.
1959: Silver Bell, Telluride’s last bordello, closes its doors for good.
1964: Telluride was designated a National Historic District for its important contribution to early-day mining.
1970: Bill Mahoney, Sr. becomes Mountain Manager for the Telluride Ski Company. The developer, Joe Zoline, moved to Telluride from Aspen. Billy and Ed Bowers cut trails, clear slopes, and obtain land-use rights, mining claims and water rights for the ski company. The famous French racer/coach and ski technician Emile Allais consults on the design and layout of the mountain.
1970-71: Ski area founded with snowcat skiing for $12.50 a day, including a sack lunch.
1972: Five lifts are constructed. The Telluride Ski school is founded in conjunction with the mountain’s opening. The Telluride Ski Resort officially opens December 22nd.
1975: Coonskin Chairlift (Lift 7) opens, providing access to the mountain from Telluride. Prior to that skiers rode a bus from town to a day lodge located where Big Billie’s is today.
1978: The area’s last mining operation, Idarado Mine, closes. Ron allred and Jim Wells, two Colorado natives, and Benchmark Corporations of Avon, CO, purchase the ski area from Joe Zoline.
1984: The Plunge, Kant-Mak-M and Mammoth are officially created on the front face, along with Pick-N-Gad and O’Reilly’s. Ground breaking between the base of Lift 4 and the top of Lift 1, construction begins in the Mountain Village.
1987: Mountain Village is founded. Infrastructure laid out for a pedestrian-oriented, ski-in, ski-out community. Telluride begins its trademark split grooming of trails, leaving one side bumped out and the other classic corduroy. An adaptive skiing program becomes part of the Telluride Ski School.
1992: Telluride Golf Resort opens with an 18 hole links style course. Mountain Village’s first hotel, the 177-room Doral Resort & Spa, opens.
1993: Doral Resort & Spa renamed The Peaks Resort & Spa.
1996: Grand opening of $19 million gondola/chondola system.
1997: Telluride’s 25th Anniversary. Bill Mahoney, Sr. inducted into the Colorado Ski Hall of Fame.
1999: Upgrade of three new lifts (two high speed detachable quads and one fixed grip triple). Grand opening of $9.5 million Telluride Conference Center.
2000: Allred’s Restaurant opens at 10,551 feet
2000-01: Over $3.1 million invested to increase snowmaking capacity
2000-02: Grand opening of Prospect Bowl, adding 733-acres of beginner, intermediate and expert terrain and nearly doubling the size of the resort.
2004: In February, the resort transferred hands to Chuck Horning of Newport Beach, Calif., currently the majority owner.
2005-2006: Mountain Quail opens - new-guided hike-to terrain in Prospect Bowl’s challenging and breathtaking Mountain Quail offers guided skiing and snowboarding within the ski area boundary for the first time. 30-minute hike from the top of Lift 12, 1,100 feet of vertical led by ski patrollers, enabling guests to experience the new terrain in a comfortable and safe environment.
2006-2007: Tempter House opens - Perched at 12,200 feet beside the famous Gold Hill, the Tempter House overlooks the world class Telluride Ski and Golf Resort and the town of Mountain Village. One of the highest elevation homes in North America. Gorrono Ranch sees a major renovation and addition of grill, deck bar and bandshell.
September 2007: September 2007 – Black Iron Bowl opening announced – Eight new runs and 1100 feet of vertical (1500 back to Lift 12) opens for public access this season, adjacent to the challenging and breathtaking Prospect Bowl. The area, including the previously guided-only Mountain Quail, spans from West Lake around to Review and Nice Chute, and sits against the dramatic backdrop of Palmyra Peak offering a backcountry experience within the ski area boundary.
January 2008: Palmyra Peak and the Gold Hill Chutes 1 & 6-10 open to the public for the first time ever, to rave reviews. Palmyra Peaks 45 minute hike elevates the ski area to an unprecedented vertical drop – 4,425 feet of terrain – and some of the most stunning skiing and riding on the continent.
November 2008: The Telluride Ski Resort announces the opening of spectacular Revelation Bowl for the 2008-09 winter season. Located on a northeastern aspect that naturally gathers huge amounts of snow and directly off the back side of the famous Gold Hill and Chair 14, Revelation Bowl has long been the envy of those standing atop Gold Hill. Choose ridgelines in either direction from the lift, with steeper pitches and rock features on the far sides of the powder bowl. The center touts an expanse of rolling, advanced terrain with a groomed path for cruising.
The resort’s vertical drop is now one of the largest in North America at 4,425 feet, with 3,845 vertical feet lift-served.
2009: Highest elevation restaurant, Alpino Vino, opens.
November 2009: Telluride Ski Resort announces Gold Hill Chutes 2-5 to open for full public access to Gold Hill’s 1-10 chutes.
2011: Outdoor-only French Country restaurant, Bon Vivant, opens.
2014: Wine Director position created. Andrew Shaffner appointed to the position.
2015: Telluride Ski & Golf purchases The Peaks Resort & Spa